A Change is as Good as a Rest

Pilot

We gave notice on our apartment at the start of July, three days before we heard from the school administration. They let us know that, while the loved us both and would like to hire us, they didn’t feel they were in a position to extend the job offers quite yet. It was tough news, but not the worst. I’d rather they exercise caution now instead of rescinding an offer later. We’re keeping the faith.

A week after that, I went back to work full time.

A week later, in a reckless display of cockeyed optimism (or, perhaps, profound rebellion) we got a dog. His name is Pilot. He’s a four-month-old Bouvier/Poodle cross or, as my manager described him, “the biggest dog mixed with the smartest dog.” (Apt.) Because puppy training and packing up your life are complementary activities and dog food is practically free, right?

And last week I had all my hair cut off.

SO WHY DON’T I FEEL MORE RESTED?
x.g.

13 thoughts on “A Change is as Good as a Rest

    • I also read somewhere they are very willful. Same with the Bouviers, I think. I’m guessing that could get tricky with a dog that size. Did you have any particular issues with training? Do you have any advice?

    • Ugh, I WISH. But I’m just going to be that brave. Or have the aesthetic appeal of an illustration. It’s something I’ve come to terms with…

  1. Maybe you don’t feel rested because having a big smart puppy in your life is kind of like dealing with a teenager? It’ll be great, and you’ll never have to give him the keys to your car 😉 xox, V

  2. If I remember correctly, you look beautiful with short hair. It sounds like all of the changes are heading toward a life that you want, there is certainly an energy in that but I don’t know that it is the same kind of energy that a good rest gives you 🙂

  3. We have a labradoodle, and yes, that poodle part is very smart and very willful. You are a leg up on us having adopted a puppy; we adopted Samwise as a year-old stray, i.e. a rescue. All I can say is train, train, train, and train some more using positive reinforcement. Lesson #1: reward him for making eye contact with you. A dog obedience class could be a good investment. We did one with Sam this past spring, and it has made a world of difference in calming him down and making him more responsive to us.

    He is adorable!

    I’m sorry that you and C. didn’t get the jobs, but it sounds like good stuff is happening. Are you moving to your home?

    • Samwise! What a great name for a dog. And you’re very right, training is a very big deal. Even at 4 months you can see he’s smart as a whip and could cause no end of trouble if he was feeling bored or neglected. I swear you can actually see him learning–when he realizes there is something to figure out he gets all serious and you can see him puzzling it out. I’m already looking into obedience classes. The eye contact thing is a good call.
      And yes, we are moving. Have moved! I’ll write a little post about it in the next few days. The job thing is a setback, to be sure, but we’re very determined.
      Anita – it’s so nice to hear from you!
      x.g.

Leave a Reply

